Foals – My Number

Foals My NumberAnother month goes by and another new Foals track surfaces, again getting its preview on Zane Lowe’s BBC Radio 1 show. Following on from Inhaler last month the band have now unveiled My Number as the first single to be lifted from the 3rd studio album Holy Fire which is set for release 11th February 2013.

My Number see’s the Foals back in Total Life Forever territory after the jaunt into desert rock on Inhaler. I’m sure this will please fans of TLF and whilst it certainly sounds like a Foals track with that classic song structure I prefer the progression that Inhaler showed. My Number has that clean, funky guitar sound that was much used on Antidotes and TLF and much copied by band wagon jumpers, along with trademark vocal harmonies from Yannis Philippakis that builds gloriously to a funk filled summit. I like the track but I hope Holy Fire is more Inhaler than My Number and see’s the band continue to evolve and not stand still.

Check the track out here and make up you own mind

Related:

Foals – Inhaler

Leave a Reply

