July Playlist

We’ve finally got a proper summer so I think it’s high time we have some proper music! As ever loads of great tunes out there just waiting to be heard, so have a listen to the tracks below and I guarantee you’ll find something you like, or your money back!

Mutineers – Tell Me Why

Manchester’s Mutineers are back with their first new material since the glorious debut album Friends, Lovers, Rivals. New single Tell Me Why is set for release in September. The track is a classic piece of Mutineers melody infused music, glorious chiming guitar and great vocals, perfect for a warm summers evening in the sun with a cold beer!

Dead Sons – Gasoline

Dead Sons bow out of 2013 with the unleashing of Gasoline, a monster of a track released in July as a stand alone single following the brilliant debut album The Hollers & The Hymns earlier this year. With guitarist Tom Rowley off playing with the all-conquering Arctic Monkeys on their world tour and writing for the second album in progress this will be the last we here from the Sheffield boys for a while, but fear not if this little taster is anything to go by we are in for even more menacingly heavy slabs of wonderfully dark music.

Arizona Rifles – It’s All Lies

Leeds 4 piece Arizona Rifles first featured on the May playlist with Still Come Back To You, this is the official debut single It’s All Lies which is set for release 19th August. The raw sound and gritty vocals have been getting rave review and have caught the ear of BBC introducing West Yorkshire.

Silent Party – Taxidermist

Debut track Taxidermist from new London outfit Silent Party is available as a free download from their soundcloud site. In the mold of Foals and Editors with layers of sound built around chiming guitar and melody.

Philip Morgan Lewis – Karma Comedown

Karma Comedown is the title track from the 6 track EP by singer, songwriter and producer Philip Morgan Lewis. A big slice of old fashioned rock and blues brought into the 21st century. Available on iTunes and Amazon now.

Strangers – Sense Of Liberty

Bridging the gap between indie and dance Sense Of Liberty by Strangers is perfect kick-start to your weekend with soaring synths, four to the floor rhythms and upbeat vocals.

Small Green Invasion – Funny Guy

If you thought Stypes were young then get on Stockport’s Small Green Invasion, all 15 years old and turning out music to put many established bands to shame! This track is Funny Guy from their Look At Me EP, reminds me of Feeder with a definite hint of US rock. Frightening to think what these guys might be producing in a few years!

Nina Yasmineh – Seven Years

Here’s something a bit different to close the playlist, New York based singer/songwriter Nina Yasmineh and the title track from the recently released EP. A beautiful piano driven track with a soulful vocal, if you like what you can download the full EP for free here

Previous Playlists


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s